Letting Go

I will learn to listen deeply without judging or reacting. ~-Thich Nhat Hanh

 

Not too long back, I decided to stop drop-in classes and start private lessons.

Then a group came along. I love the people, so I said yes to the class.

Not too long back, I said that classes should be 90 minutes.

Then I started at NGOs. Working with mentally challenged women, I dropped to 1 hour, then to 45 minutes. Working with HIV+ kids and special needs kids, 30 minutes would be plenty!

Another group asked for 3-4 classes/ week. Others only want sessions during their vacations. Some people want to come for workshops. Some want a gentle session, and others want more rigorous workout. Some want to focus on therapeutic needs, while others want to exercise or meditate.

This journey has helped me realize that if yoga is for each individual, then I should be flexible enough to let go of my preconceived notions about the structure of the class, and cater to each individual’s needs.

Yoga for YOU allows you make the decisions.

Peace workers, when in the field, should also focus on the individual and community needs as appropriate, without coming in with preconceived structures in place. We’ve got to give in, and use our skills and expertise to benefit people and places the way that works best for them.

It’s not about being right. It’s about doing right.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie Knight
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 06:32:34

    I like this blog. I also like your last sentence: It’s not about being right. It’s about doing right.” A lot of people focus on “being right” and not “doing right”.

    Reply

  2. MNA IYER
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 02:42:54

    Yes, you are right. Do you include “depression” in the mentally challenged group.

    Reply

    • sowmyaayyar
      Nov 08, 2011 @ 02:46:06

      Dear MNA IYER,
      While it was not my original thought, a number of the mentally challenged women have talked to me about their depression. All of them suffer from learning disabilities as well.
      –Sowmya

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Word of the Week

Namaste. This section will begin to explore sanskrit terminology associated with yoga. First word: Namaste. This is a salutation, "I salute the light within you that is within me also."
For more information, see: http://www.udaipurtimes.com/namaste-feeling-and-expression-in-ones-heart/ http://www.yogajournal.com/basics/822

News on Domestic Violence

Since I've been blogging about yoga and domestic violence, I thought I would share Dr. Phil's stories as well. The television icon is asking people to break the silence! http://blog.drphil.com/2010/09/09/our-ninth-season/
