A whole new level of patience

India

Image via Wikipedia

Living in India can be trying, to say the least. It took me 2 weeks and a pint of blood to get a SIM card here, and then after another week, I was cut off due to lack of paper work. Only after my mother visited the show room and just sat until the work was done did my phone actually work.

Same thing happens when I go to the bank and ask to make a deposit. It’s not as easy as one would think. And while I’m sitting there, filling out the deposit slip, five other people come up and ask questions of the teller/ banker.

It takes 30 minutes to travel 5 kilometers here. Walking is not really an option, since roads are not perfectly paved, and sidewalks are almost non-existent. (Actually, sidewalks–and any other open area– are used as open latrines for men; women just have to hold it in.)

Things are just really, really slow here. The heat doesn’t help either.

At first it was frustrating. Being from California, I really am used to doing things how I want to, when I want to, without any question.

I’m learning a whole new level of patience, coming to peace with my new surroundings. The cultural and social norms just operate this way, and there is no possibility for creating efficiency and time-management in this country where the pace of life is so vastly different than what I’m used to. If California is the laid-back west of the US, India is the mother-land for chillin’ out. It’s okay if nothing ever gets done, because at least people are happy.

Hats off to all Indians who live in patience. It comes from several millenia of yogic culture embedded in the way of life, passed down from generation to generation, regardless of religion.

Leave a Reply

Word of the Week

Namaste. This section will begin to explore sanskrit terminology associated with yoga. First word: Namaste. This is a salutation, "I salute the light within you that is within me also."
For more information, see: http://www.udaipurtimes.com/namaste-feeling-and-expression-in-ones-heart/ http://www.yogajournal.com/basics/822

News on Domestic Violence

Since I've been blogging about yoga and domestic violence, I thought I would share Dr. Phil's stories as well. The television icon is asking people to break the silence! http://blog.drphil.com/2010/09/09/our-ninth-season/
