Your thoughts on Yoga for Peace

So I’m trying to write an essay for a course on heroes. In the class, we’re discussing heroes in our religion. I could have chosen Hinduism, and made it really easy for me. (Arjuna, Krishna, Rama, Devi, Kali)

This, however, would be lazy on my part, and yoga does not necessarily espouse laziness. So, I thought would challenge myself to write about heroes in the religion of Love.

One part of this religion teaches us to love one another and love everyone, which yoga can help in. Yoga is about finding inner peace, and being able to translate it into our daily actions. This would include bringing love into our social interactions with people we meet all the time.

Another part of this religion teaches us to love ourselves, which, again, yoga has the ability to teach us how to love ourselves. For one, we learn about giving ourselves ayurvedic self-massages, in order to rejuvinate our body. In addition, different forms of yoga give us the chance to love ourselves in different ways. We practice restorative yoga. Yin yoga concentrates on connective tissues that give love to our joints we usually abuse. Power yoga allows us to find the inner energy and work out our body, which is good for health, showing that we truly care about the gift of our bodies.

Where do you see the hero in all of this? Today, I solicit your responses.
1. Who is the hero in yoga?
2. What is history of the hero in yoga?
3. What does the hero offer to the religion of love?
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. angela chase
    May 08, 2010 @ 02:35:43

    I found the information educational. I didn’t realize there was so much to the art of Yoga. Since I’ve never taken a class, I only think of it as stretching and finding you inner peace, but was unsure of the techniques used.

    It is important to love yourself and be at peace with yourself. How you treat others around you stems from how you treat yourself. Yoga is an interesting art, indeed!

    Reply

  2. Joslin
    May 08, 2010 @ 02:52:29

    I think that the hero in yoga is ourself. We go to yoga to discover ourselves more deeply and to, therefore, become the hero in our own existence.

    Reply

  3. Vickie
    May 08, 2010 @ 16:38:35

    This is a good question and one I am not too familiar, but I would have to say a yoga hero is a yoga teacher…because she/he is passing along the power of mind/body/spirit to others.

    Reply

  4. Chelsey
    May 09, 2010 @ 21:08:52

    I would agree with Joslin–the hero within yoga is ourselves. The process to greater self-awareness and discovery is certainly not always a comfortable, easy one. Accordingly, the choice to nevertheless pursue this path can be, I think, considered nothing short of heroic!

    I have never before considered the “religion of love” and am looking forward to reading your essay, Sowmya 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Word of the Week

Namaste. This section will begin to explore sanskrit terminology associated with yoga. First word: Namaste. This is a salutation, "I salute the light within you that is within me also."
For more information, see: http://www.udaipurtimes.com/namaste-feeling-and-expression-in-ones-heart/ http://www.yogajournal.com/basics/822

News on Domestic Violence

Since I've been blogging about yoga and domestic violence, I thought I would share Dr. Phil's stories as well. The television icon is asking people to break the silence! http://blog.drphil.com/2010/09/09/our-ninth-season/
